Winners of Arts Festival Announced | Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass
Today’s hours: 10:00 am – 4:30 pm
always free admission

Winners of Arts Festival Announced

Winners of Arts Festival Announced

Posted on Jul 20, 2015, by

The 41st Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass Arts Festival was held Sunday, July 19 at Riverside Park in Neenah. More than 65 artists displayed their artwork to crowds of enthusiastic festival goers. This community tradition is a fund raiser for the museum, which offers free general admission to everyone, always.
Each year select artists are recognized for their outstanding work. This year, five artists were acknowledged.
Best of Show was awarded to Steven Hass of Green Bay, who entered in the sculpture category.
The Lilian Noble Award went to Leif Kutschera of Menasha, who entered in the glass category.
The Leslie Hamilton Award went to Wilfred Fang of Stevens Point, who entered in the mixed media category.
One Award of Recognition went to Anne Marie Quinn-Ross of Neenah, who entered in the photography category.
The second Award of Recognition went to Peter Strubb of Elkhart Lake, who entered in the wood category.
Judges for this year’s festival were Jan and Lloyd Hughes of Sherwood, WI. Lloyd, who has a lifelong interest in the arts, served on the museum board for over ten years in positions of secretary, vice president and president.
Jan studied ceramics at Maria Grey College Twickenham, England before coming to the US and serving as Executive Director of Appleton Arts Center (AAC) for ten years until 1997. While in South Africa from 1998 – 2000 Jan earned a Fine Arts Diploma in Drawing from the University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. Using expertise gained from her time at AAC Jan most recently served as committee chair for the Bergstrom-Mahler Museum of Glass Arts Festival over the past six years.
Thank you to the festival sponsors and donors this year who helped to make the event a success:
Bergstrom Automotive, Menasha Corporation Foundation, Scene Magazine, Schenck, Associated Bank, Fox 11 WLUK, Stone Arch, Kerntke Otto McGlone Wealth Management Group, Remley Sensenbrenner Law Offices, Fox Communities Credit Union, Liberty Hall, Cellars Wine & Spirits, Lamers, Catherine and Jeff Holecko, Jann and Bill McBride, Rosann Baum Milius, Bill Bane, Jan & Lloyd Hughes, Barbara & Bill Kelly, Fox Cities PAC, Rye Restaurant, Vince Lombardi’s Steakhouse, Mile of Music Manderfields Bakery, Kimberly-Clark Corporation, and RLJ Dental.
Pictured: Judges Jan and Lloyd Hughes, artist, Steven Hass and award sponsor, Rosann Milius.

Posted in General, News | Tagged | Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.